What I talk about when I talk about walking

I recently read Haruki Murakami’s “What  I talk about when I talk about running“, an autobiographic tale of a serial marathon-runner and world-renowned author.

The unparalleled bliss that comes somewhere after 50 minutes of running, when the pulse is in resonance with the cosmic heart-beat and endorphins perform somersaults in the air above your head  is an indisputable fact.

I ran a semi-marathon once and every time the season of longer and brighter days kicks in, I am somehow compelled to start running.

However, my most constant an unquestionable relationship is that to walking. As a general rule, wherever my feet can  take me, I will go.  The more I think of it, the more I realise what an intrinsic part of my life it has always  been.  I grew up in a car-less family. From going to school and running errands to recreation and holidays,  walking was a very natural part of our daily life and it is still something that connects me to my kin.

walking

During my university years, I managed to wear out several pairs of pants. One by one they would succumb to friction and the kilometres traveled on foot. Funnily enough, my shoes resisted much better.

I was a mean walker. I am still fast, but used to be even faster. I always walked with determination and speed.  Walking duels with fellow pedestrians were not uncommon. My competitors would most of the time be male. Consciously or unconsciously they would  speed up as I  threatened to overtake them. And most  often I did.

Remove walking from my everyday routine and I am frustrated. While in India a couple of years ago, it took me a week to figure out how to cross the street in one piece. I was heavily walking-deprived by then. Once I had mustered the courage to challenge my way over the zebra crossing, I could breath out and reclaim normality.

Walking does definitively not sound as spectacular or sexy as running. It is a form of low-intensity exercise though, which probably matches my personality quite well. Intensity mellowed down by constancy and endurance.

Walking also perfectly reflects a favourite oxymoron, σπεῦδε βραδέως, which more or less translates into “rush slowly”. For me this is how intensity, focus and intention all come together gracefully.

I do not need to walk for miles to fetch water; nor did I ever have to cross mountainous terrain to go to school. I don’t need to walk to the nearest village to go to the doctor. However, I don’t only walk for the mere sake of walking. It is in many ways an instrumental element of my life, embedded into my activities. It is like a useful relationship of give and take that I nurture. What I invest in it returns to me in increments of well-being.

When I am outside walking, surrounded by people, nature or urban landscapes, I am in a realm where opposites meet and through some kind of fast-paced magic,  manage to coexist in harmony creating functional beauty.

For all of those reasons, and many more, I walk. And as I keep on walking, I learn how to balance discipline with joy, inertia with activity, relaxation with focus. I hope that walking will continue being a source of enjoyment and learning for many more healthy years to come.

2 comments
  1. Karin said:

    Som svar på din formkommentar:) Är du van att springa på 13 km/h tycker du garanterat att du är i dålig form om du inte kommer upp i 10 km/h… brukar du orka gå en mil men orkar bara gå 5 km tycker du nog också att du är i dålig form. Det är ju helt individuellt:)

    • Visst är det individuellt, trots att det finns ngt där mitt emellan och då menar jag vad en person med bra grundkondition klarar av. Intressant att veta vad andra orkar med. Har som sagt inte sprungit på ett tag nu, men går ofta, raskt och långt, men det är inte alltid så att jag kollar min prestation, men börjar nu lite smått för skojs skull. Roligt att veta hur andra upplever löpning. Vill se om jag klarar av att springa utan att känna obehag.

Leave a Reply

sofiawise

Clockwise, otherwise & likewise

The Chick on a Pea

Clockwise, otherwise & likewise

Buttercupgoeswest

Buttercup is a newborn and we are taking her on a 5000 KM journey from Ahmedabad to Kanyakumari

Sadness Theory

Music with passion for the environment

zee pause café

taking a moment, having a coffee, writing down some thoughts

